School of Electromechanical Engineering


Established in 2003, the school of Electromechanical Engineering consists of six Departments and three Institutes. The Departments are: Machine Design & Manufacturing and Automation, Industrial Design, Measurement & Control Technology and Instrumentation, Material Processing and Control Engineering, Material Engineering, and Vehicle Engineering. Three Institutes are: Vibration, Shock & Fault Diagnosis, and Modern design and manufacturing engineering. The school owns many teaching and research platforms, such as Ministry of Education’s Engineering Research Center of Advanced Mining Equipment, Hunan Provincial Key Laboratory of Health Maintenance for Mechanical Equipment, Hunan Provincial Exemplary Laboratory of Mechanical Foundations, and Hunan Provincial Exemplary Practical Teaching Center of Electromechanical Control. Laboratories occupy 18,000 square meters in total, and these Labs have a total value of 80 million Chinese Yuan. The school has more than 130 faculty members, including 26 professors, 26 associate professors, and 45 assistant professors. Most of faculty members achieve Master’s degree or Doctor’s degree. This school has undertaken 155 scientific research grants and projects at provincial or ministerial levels that include those granted from the National Natural Science Foundation of China, the National High Technology Research and Development Program of China (863 Program), and National Science and Technology Support Program, etc. So far, the school has won 10 awards at the provincial or ministerial lever. The number of registered students is nearly 2100, in which 1860 are undergraduates and 220 are graduates. Till 2012, about 3300 students had been graduated from this school, which includes 3219 undergraduate and 120 postgraduate. The school offers Master's degree and bachelor’s degrees in different disciplines.

Tel: 0731-58290847, Website: